Run 4U 5K Race Recap (21:17) + My Crazy Week

Happy Sunday, running friends!

I had quite a week. At (what I hope was) the apex of my ongoing health battle, I ended up in the emergency room, Monday morning. (I’m doing better now.) I still got my run in, Monday night. You know you’re a running addict when you’ve got a Garmin on one wrist and a hospital bracelet on the other.

13726830_10103004131892514_3731778692799327474_n.jpg
My brother Alex and me

I’ve been running with my brother a little more frequently and it’s been nice. He is completing an accelerated EMT training course at the moment, so he’s studying a lot, but I’ve occasionally convinced him to run about 4 miles of my daily stretch with me.

On Wednesday, I had a great hill workout with the Haddonfield Running Company group run crew. I’ve been faithfully going to group run every week, even though it’s been close to 100 degrees here in New Jersey. I ran 6.5 miles (3 flat, 3.5 intense hills) at a 7:34 pace. I’ll eventually take a picture of the corkscrew mountains on the group run course to show off on my blog.

I’d been planning to do the Run 4U 5K at the Cooper River this Saturday, because the race advertised a $100 cash prize and I always need new running shoes. I was a little less than thrilled at the prospect of racing in the 90 degree weather, but, when cash is on the line, you do what you have to. Heat and humidity hurt everyone, so, even though your finishing time will be affected, the actual race won’t.

This race had one of the best community vibes I’ve encountered in all the 100s of 5K races I’ve run in the past 7 years. The host was bFIT4Life, a local ministry dedicated to fighting childhood obesity. 125 runners and walkers showed up to the event.

I felt like a slug during my mile warmup. Chris was so tired, he didn’t even warm up. The sun was already taking a toll on me and I had a little residual soreness/fatigue from my hill workout. But, when the siren went off, I took off much faster than I intended to. I spent my first mile picking off 3 or 4 guys who had sprinted out in the lead. I was so focused on the fun of catching up to them, that I ran my first mile in 6:05. That’s the fastest mile I’ve ever run. And it didn’t feel hard at all.

Then the heat got to me. It was really freaking hot. I realized I was way ahead of the other women, so I made the decision to slow down and tempo-run the rest of the race. That way, I would still win the cash prize and not feel totally destroyed at the finish line. I ran my second mile in 6:57 and my third mile in 7:13.

My final time was 21:17 (on the notoriously long Cooper River course), which is the slowest I’ve raced a 5K in a long time. But I felt great and I’m confident that all of my hill workouts are starting to pay off. I’m ready to set some new PRs when the temperature drops.

I finished 5th overall and 1st woman.

Chris decided to jog the race, too. He made a funny spectacle at the finish.

13697260_10100573626744286_7396083578469156422_n.jpg

Here is some exciting finish line footage!

After the race, I impulsively adopted a kitten. She is pretty awesome. Loves to be loved and uses the litter box like a boss.

I actually slept a little bit on my first night home!
Must love running shoes

 

I also adopted a kitten for my brother!

They are a brother and sister duo, just like us.

We lost our beloved family cat, Mario, almost two years ago, and it was completely devastating. He was 16 years old and lived a good life, but I don’t think any of us were prepared for how badly it would hurt to see him go.

1601436_10101967345400954_1244019795112578750_n.jpg

Because it was #cleartheshelters day, the Camden County Animal Shelter was offering completely free pet adoptions. My mom and I arrived at the event just before the shelter closed. They had adopted out dozens of kittens, but there just happened to be two, gorgeous kittens remaining. The girl was cuddly and sweet, and the boy was a total goofball. My mother and I couldn’t say no, so we took them both.

I remember when we adopted Mario, 17 years ago, like it was yesterday. It was nice to have the experience of bringing home new furballs with my family, who have been so supportive of me.

After the pet adoption, Alex and I went to Walmart for supplies and we got caught in a monster hail storm. It was terrifying. When we got back to my mother’s house, we saw a tree had fallen on my car.

13709759_10103013590906574_8811660238189366657_n.jpg
Yes, my car was under that.

If you know me, you know my car is an accident magnet. It’s sustained 5 hit-and-runs and numerous other collisions that were not my fault over the 11 years since I bought it. At this point, I just laugh whenever anything happens to my car. Luckily, my mother’s neighbors helped me lift the branch off the hood and I was able to drive away.

13770401_10103013590956474_1839367678499377238_n.jpg
I don’t care anymore.

I’m hanging out with Kitten No Name (seriously, someone please help me name her) and working today, which is a nice, calm departure from the rest of my week. I’m waiting for it to dip below 90 degrees to go for my recovery run.

Questions for the Internets:

What’s the craziest thing that happened to you this week?

Are you a cat person or a dog person?

Did you race this weekend? If so, how did it go?

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. So I think the cat should be named “Smoke.” That is a good neutral name, and it gives time for the kitty do develop what it mean. Could be the color, could be disappears, could can’t catch smoke, or smoke- like my mom in her shoes I sleep on every night. Also, Smoke could hang out with JB (jet black), my cat who sleeps on my shoes too.

    Other questions. I have dogs and cats, so no preference. Crazy situation, I took over management of a restaurant. No racing, or hardly any running (see previous sentence). Should race this weekend for the “Munger Spud Run,” which is part of the Munger Potato Festival in my hometown.

    Cheers on the shoe money, konrad

    Like

  2. Hi there, sorry to hear that you had to go to the emergency room,i hope it wasn’t to serious,but I’m glad you are ok,
    That was a nice 5k race you did,the event was great each year,i did it last 2 years and was fun. I have been out of running last money,i took a long break and then I hurt my knee last week.
    I know most times will be slow while running in the heat, it tough to run when it 95 or more degrees out.
    Your cat’s you adopted are so cool,
    Patches and purely should be some good names.
    I too lost a cat mine was 14 years old and it sad to loose a good buddy .
    Keep up the good work.
    Happy running Liz.

    Like

Leave a Reply

