RunKeeper Saucony Deals + UNICEF Donations

I GPS most of my runs, usually to get a sense of my pace (I have my favorite running routes memorized so I can tell how far I’ve run without any GPS technology). I mostly use my Garmin or the NikePro app, because I find it’s the most glitch-free mobile running application. However, RunKeeper has been offering a few cool incentives recently, so I have tracked my last couple of runs with RunKeeper instead. (NOTE: If you’re going to use the RunKeeper app to take advantage of these incentives and you’re obsessed with collecting accurate running statistics, you may want to use a back-up GPS method, such as a watch. I have experienced GPS issues with RunKeeper over the last five or six years I’ve been using it.)

On Sunday, RunKeeper launched its inaugural Sunday Runday by teaming up with Saucony to offer a 20% discount to any user who ran a minimum thirty minute run with the app. I was really excited to snag this deal, because I had my eye on this Saucony Dash tank and wasn’t able to justify the $48 price tag.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 6.28.08 PM

After logging a 30 minute recovery run with RunKeeper, I received my 20% off discount code. Plus, I qualified for free express shipping, since I subscribed to Saucony’s email list.

Today, I joined RunKeeper’s UNICEF challenge, which runs through July 10th. Anyone who runs a minimum 6 mile run with the RunKeeper app during the challenge automatically donates three days worth of clean water to a child in need.

I think it’s such an awesome opportunity to donate your runs to a charitable cause. I was planning to run 10K on Tuesday anyway; why not help improve someone else’s quality of life while doing what I love?

If you’re a runner, you know: water is this planet’s most precious resource. I drank at least 16 ounces of water over the course of my 6.2 mile run today. Usually I take it for granted, but today I considered it a luxury.

Questions for the Internets:

Have you ever donated miles to charity?

What’s your favorite way to GPS your workouts?

Let me know if you plan on joining the RunKeeper UNICEF challenge!

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Jessica @ VEGGIE RUNNING MOMMA June 30, 2015 — 11:24 pm

    awe.! I love that donating to Unicef idea.! wow I wish more companies did stuff like that. It’s crazy how much we take for granted.!
    I use my tomtom gps watch to track my runs 🙂

    Like

    • I hear good things about TomTom! I would love to see more companies jump on board too. One of the great things about road races is they support charitable causes. It’s fantastic to give back on your regular training runs, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoa – I need to get back on RunKeeper ASAP! Thanks for the tip!! So awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

