April Training Recap + Broad Street Run Expo!

It is Christmas — erm — Broad Street Run Eve!

My April training leading up to Broad Street has been pretty awesome. Physically, I feel great. I’ve been extremely disciplined about taking a cross-training day at least once every seven days. I’ve run my easy days easy and I’ve gone fairly hard during my speed workouts, specifically the Codependency 5K and the Mayor’s Wellness 5K. I completed my last long run, a relaxed 11-miler with Chris, two weeks out from Broad Street. I did my last fast effort (a 5K training run at a 7:30 pace) this Thursday, in order to get my legs turning over more quickly.

Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 2.51.44 PM

I ran 115 miles during the month of April. 

My mood has been pretty great, too. Editing has been encouraging as of late and I’m caught up on work-work.

I’ve also been taking measures to improve my diet.

Since December, I’ve been consistently increasing my protein as well as my overall caloric intake, in order to fuel longer, harder runs and better aid in post-run recovery.

I’ve become religious about taking in at least 100% of my RDA of calcium every single day.

Now, I’m focused on eating more iron. I haven’t eaten red meat in years, so I know I wasn’t get enough. Lately I have been making it a point to take in at least 100% of my RDA of iron from vegetarian sources such as spinach, beans, and fortified cereal. After a few weeks of making this concerted effort, I am feeling so much more energized. I’m bouncing back from hard efforts much more easily and I don’t feel sluggish/faint anymore.

Did you know one serving of Frosted Mini Wheats delivers 90% of your daily iron requirement?

While I haven’t been officially diagnosed with any sort of iron deficiency/anemia (I avoid doctors like the treadmill) I figured it could only help my running to make sure I take in the bare minimum of iron every day. Female runners are at a dramatically increased risk for iron deficiency (iron is lost through sweat and menstruation while red blood cells can be damaged through foot-strike hemolysis).

Enough about iron.

Last night I attended the Broad Street Run Expo to pick up my bib and ogle at all the discount running gear. Except the discount gear (specifically shoes) were way less discounted than they are on Amazon.

I still had fun.
I still had fun.
Chris had fun too.
Chris had fun too.

I didn’t buy anything at the expo (a first for me) so I had to swing by Forever 21 on the way home. I’m in dire need of new running bras for summer, so I picked up these two:

I really like Forever 21’s workout gear. It’s cheap but decent quality and the designs stand out from a lot of other activewear brands (lots of crisscross backs, funky patterns, and feminine details). I took the blue one out for a spin on a super easy 5K jog this afternoon and it performed extremely well!

img_0968

After my run I got to see Chris’ friend dance Coppelia. She was so amazingly awesome. I’m not nervous about running Broad Street anymore after watching her dance on her toes for two hours. Running is a cakewalk in comparison.

Anyway:

My official time goal for the 2015 Broad Street Run is 1:10:45.

This is an extremely ambitious time goal. It is over three minutes faster than my 10 mile PR (1:13:49). I probably will not achieve my goal. But I’m the kind of kid who runs for the moon. I will be Sharpie-tattooing my goal time and pace (7:05) to my forearm, come race morning. I’m excited to see a few friends cheering along the course, especially my good friend Bernie, who will be waiting with his professional camera at mile 6, when things will undoubtedly start to get rough. It’s possible that all the adrenaline and camaraderie will push me towards the finish line faster than ever before. But, as always, I’m thrilled just to be running this spectacular race, yet again (this will be my 6th consecutive Broad Street Run).

Questions for the Internets:

Which brand makes the best running bras?

How do you make sure you’re getting enough iron/calcium in your diet?

Do you set a goal time/pace before a big race?

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You can cook with cast iron cook ware, just like your grandma used to do! I believe there was even a research study done were food prepared in cast iron pots increased hemoglobin concentrations after about 4-5 months in most of the participants and had fairly strong, repeatable results in different populations. The older the iron cook ware, the better!

    Like

  2. That’s so interesting about the iron cookware, I had no idea either.

    I’m glad your training has been going so well for Broad Street, it sounds like it has been a great month for you! It sounds like the combination of getting more iron as well as running has been great for you.

    Like

  3. Liz, I re-read link from Harvard’s online stuff today and thought you might dig it. It’s from Harvard, so it had better be good. http://www.health.harvard.edu/family_health_guide/calcium-curious

    Like

    • This is really interesting! I get 100% or very close to 100% of my RDA of calcium each day from food alone (yogurts, milk, cheese) but I supplement occasionally if I feel I have fallen short. I do believe there are other factors at play when it comes to maintaining good bone health – and there are even more variables when it comes to runners (form, efficiency, training volume). I read somewhere that women with larger calf circumferences are at a decreased risk of fractures, which supports the overall “strong musculature supports strong bones” theory.

      Like

Leave a Reply

