The Farthest I’ve Ever Run!

Today I ran the farthest I’ve ever run (at one shot): 11.02 miles

That doesn’t sound very far!

It actually didn’t feel very far, either. Abridged moral of the story: I should stop being so lazy.

I woke up feeling just awful today. I’m basically one of those women who can retain 5 pounds of water weight in a 24-hour time frame. Anyone else out there have to deal with this? You know, like when you wake up in the morning and your eyes are literally swollen shut? And your rings cut off the circulation in your fingers? And your skin is cracked open in places? Tell me I’m not the only one. Anybody?

Whenever this happens (I should probably eat less sodium whenever this happens, but, whatever; I am alive and I am going to live), I need to schedule an emergency long run, STAT. Today, I drank a quick cup of coffee and then Chris and I drove down to the river, which is approximately 3.6 miles per loop. I decided I needed to run three loops around the river (10.8 miles) in order to feel better. I’ve only ever run 2 loops (7.2 miles) around the river and my longest run to date was 10.65 miles (between Thanksgiving dinner #1 and Thanksgiving dinner #2 a few years ago). I mostly train for 5Ks and 10-milers, so I’ve just never felt the need to run farther than that. Today, this obviously needed to change.

Fake pre-run smile

Chris and I started out running together, but I felt like speeding up for the first few miles (about an 8:10 pace) so I ran alone and he ran behind me. It was 79 degrees and SUNNY! The trees were in full bloom. There were a few dozen other runners out enjoying the day. One man was wearing one of those retro trash bag style sweatsuits. Just looking at him made me want to pass out. There’s always a guy running in a sweatsuit at the river. He always upsets me. Even on days when I’m functioning as a living water balloon, I cannot imagine intentionally trying to overheat/dehydrate myself.

1st Law of Running: Don’t ever wear one of these.

That said, I probably should have brought water along with me, but I was in such a rush to get started running that I forgot. I started to really feel the heat after about 7/8 miles. I thought maybe I would stop 10 miles into my run and walk the rest of the way back to the car, but I decided to turn around and find Chris. We ran another mile together, for a total of 11 miles.

Genuine running smile
Run stats

When we finished running, Chris said, “Wow! Your face doesn’t look so swollen anymore!”

Thanks, dude.

Chris brought a thermos with him so I drank all of his water and then I bought him a Starbucks iced coffee (along with a complementary cup of ice water) to make up for it.

All this for two people

I don’t really feel beat up at all (though I am a little sunburned). I feel really good going into the year’s Broad Street Run. I think I ran one or two 7 mile “long runs” going into last year’s race, which I completed in 1:13:49. This year, I’ve done at least 5 10+ mile runs. I believe it’s within my potential to knock another few minutes off my 10 mile PR (I would love to break 70 minutes this year, but that’s probably still a long shot).

When I got home, I felt totally rejuvenated. I ran some errands, ate a bunch of food, and got some solid editing work done. Hooray for emergency long runs! Coping skills: I’ve got ’em.

Questions for the Internets:

What’s the longest you’ve ever run in one stretch?

How do you hydrate on long runs?

What’s the most ridiculous thing you’ve ever seen another runner wearing? (If you saw me running around town in my spankies yesterday, well: there’s your answer!)

IMG_0607

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Congratulations on your PDR- personal distance record!

    I agree that long runs are very mental (you’re not lazy!). You were already running 7 miles and 11 is 4 more miles and that’s only about 35-36 more minutes of total running but seems like way more because it’s a double digit. For me, it’s not much harder to run 11 miles vs. 7 miles- but what is hard is getting out the door to run and once I am doing it, I can just add on.

    Surely 11 miles in the weather helped with the water retention (yikes) and glad you guys got coffee and lots of water after to rehydrate and celebrate with Starbucks!

    My longest run was 26.2 miles. I only did it once (my longest run in training was 22)

    Like

    • Thank you, Amy! One thing I’ve noticed is that the longer I’ve been running, the longer it takes me to “settle in” to a run – so whereas I used to feel good about 1-3 miles into a run, it now takes me about 5-7 miles. I agree – it’s (ironically) much easier to keep adding on miles the further along you are in a run! And I have mad respect for you marathoners. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eh, I don’t think of myself as a marathoner. Yes, I completed a marathon and earned that car sticker, but it’s not my distance of choice and I have no plans for another anytime soon (I’ll probably run another one day, though). Marathoning is almost a different sport than 5K-half- and it’s not for me.

        I’d say it takes me about 2 miles to “warm up”. I usually run about 2 before a 5K race and at least one mile before a 10K (2 for my last one). 11 miles is a great distance though, I’m really proud of you for taking a chance on it and going a little farther than usual. It’s one of those things that you never know you can do it until you do. The marathon was kind of like that too bc no one really runs 26.2 in training (well, I guess some people do but most first-time recreational runners just go to 20-22).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! It really is fun to run farther. I can feel my body start to adapt to longer distances (by “adapt” I mean eating everything in sight!) so maybe I’ll end up liking them more. I agree about different distances being different sports. I like shorter races because they don’t require as much recovery. I’m one of those people who likes/needs to work out every day so short distances work best for me (for now).

        Like

  2. I’m so excited for you. I know you are going to do awesome at Broad Street this year and I cannot wait to see you soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on making 11 miles! I have a hard time with anything over 10!

    Like

Leave a Reply

