Friday Favorites! (April 3rd Edition)

Happy Friday! The weather is ever so slowly getting warmer. Suddenly, there’s not just one, but 5 or 10 local 5K races I could run each weekend. I’m starting to notice robins and tree buds and crocuses. I’ve finally admitted to myself that I actually like the smell of fertilizer.

My training went well this week. I took my heart rate monitor for a spin during an eight mile run on Wednesday. I hit an average heart rate of 163 over eight miles at a pace of 7:48. That’s a little high, so I might have been running a bit fast for an everyday training run, but it’s how fast my body wanted to run so I just went with it. I may or may not be racing this weekend, depending on the weather. (Saturday is supposed to be windy and Sunday is a flop because of Easter.)

I’m editing a book. It’s a lot of work, but the only way to get it done is to break it up into small, manageable pieces. I know exactly how long I can work in chunks (3 hours) before I start to go insane. When I sit down to work, I set my timer and when my timer beeps I break to either run or eat. This system is working well for me and I’m starting to really enjoy editing vs. actively writing. I know I personally can only ever be successful by maintaining balance in my life. I divide my time equally between writing work, creative work, running, yoga, reading, and zoning out with music/shows/movies. As I get older, I get progressively better at biting off a wee bit less than I can chew, which allows me to enjoy life alongside work. So, with this idea in mind, here are a few of my weekly favorites:

What I’ve been watching:

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. Honestly, I was sort of turned off to this show after watching the pilot because the characters are all so cringe-worthy cliche. EXCEPT for Kimmy Schmidt. She’s just so insane and I cannot stop watching her spastic facial ticks. Sometimes I, too, feel like a silly, naive, gingery, overly emotive, 90s-nostalgic, 29-year-old woman who spent the early 21st Century trapped in a bunker. (Pretty much all of the aforementioned is literally true about me, except for the last part, which easily works as metaphor.) I’m obsessed with Kimmy’s ridonculous fashion sense and I’ll probably have to buy at least one new bright pink lipstick before April is over. (P.S. I just discovered this website, which apparently is the “Shazam for [beauty and] fashion.”)

Kimmy wears HOKAs!
Kimmy wears HOKAs!

What I’ve been eating:

These random gluten-free chocolate chip cookies.

  

Chris brought these home from Target and told me not to eat them. So I waited for him to leave town and then I ate them. They are delicious. Basically, they are the closet thing to raw cookie dough I’ve ever experienced in cooked cookie form. So soft, so tender, so persuasive….. Anyway, I neither need nor prefer gluten-free food, but I do very much prefer snack food that doesn’t contain GMOs and artificial colors/preservatives. If I’m going to eat stuff out of a package (and, let’s face it: practically everything I eat is out of a package), I’d like it to be as natural and unprocessed as possible.

What I’ve been listening to:

I’ve been on a huge Broken Bells kick lately. I can’t seem to decide whether Broken Bells or After the Disco is the better album. Anyone care to weigh in? Either way, James Mercer makes a great running buddy.

Screen Shot 2015-04-02 at 1.26.29 PM

What I’ve been reading:

White Noise. I’m ashamed I didn’t arrive here sooner. I’m pretty convinced DeLillo wrote this one especially for me. I cannot put it down, so I’ve fallen asleep in it more than a few nights this week.

What I’m looking forward to: Racing spring’s first WARM 5K half naked, seeing Sufjan Stevens in concert, getting tan, finding some free time to bake all the recipes I’ve been hoarding in Pinterest.

Questions for the Internets:

What’s the best thing you ate this week?

Did you watch Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt? What did you think?

11 Comments

Add yours →

  1. It’s frustrating that now we have so many 5ks and I cannot run them because of injury. I know you will rock them though. I cannot wait to see you on Tuesday though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never seen that show but I’ve seen some Facebook posts about it.

    Those cookies look delicious! I’m not gluten free but if the cookie is good I’ll eat it. I have seen a few gluten free baked goods that looked harder so it’s good these are softer for those who need gluten free (or those like me who would eat them just because they’re cookies).

    Good luck with your upcoming 5Ks and 10Ks! 10Ks are pretty much over here and we don’t have many 5Ks until May. Not sure why April is such a dry month in Charleston Road Racing but I figure I’ll train hard and build a nice solid mileage base before it gets too hot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I highly recommend these cookies! They are the softest chocolate chip cookies I have ever eaten. Apparently they come in a bunch of other flavors too. That’s so interesting – we pretty much only have 5K races around where I live. I should probably find more 10Ks to race though because I think they would really improve my 5K fitness!

      Like

  3. Great post! Love the updates on what you are reading, looking forward to etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jessica @ VEGGIE RUNNING MOMMA April 6, 2015 — 6:49 pm

    The way you approach editing is a lot like running.!! If I say I’m going to do a 12 miler I get overwhelmed and it feels too long, but if I think about it as just 6 miles out and back than it’s not so bad.!
    Those cookies look sooo good and soft. I love target.!
    Best thing I ate this week… hmm.. hommade quesidillas. My mom made the tortilla and it was so thick and greasy.! yum, with salsa on top. lol

    Like

    • Yes! I approach everything in small increments. If I don’t, I get easily overwhelmed. Whenever I set out on a run, I give myself permission to quit after 5K if I’m not feeling it. If I feel like I want to keep going, I keep going. Then I reassess how I feel at 10K and so on. Those quesadillas sound so good! Nothing beats home cooking. (Target cookies come close!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

