Friday Favorites: Running Podcasts, Music, Fuel

TGIF!

Last Saturday, I ran the Haddonfield Adrenaline Run 5K. It was pretty great (minus the puking, Mile 3). I set a new, 13 second 5K PR (21:12) and finished strong. I was pleased with my performance, considering the cold, snow, potholes, and extra large (competitive) field. I’m looking forward to racing much faster times this spring.

My friend Scott, who is an exceptionally speedy ultra runner, wrote a really nice Adrenaline Run race recap. Also, here is some nifty finish line footage (I come in a little after the 7 minute mark).

 

I’m always a little let down after a good race. I know I’m going to be somewhat sore and out of strong running commission for the following few days. Since it had been six weeks since my previous 5K, the DOMS set in HARD, come Sunday. I was sore everywhere. EVERYWHERE. Even my right bicep was sore, which makes no sense since this was one of the very few races during which I didn’t carry my iPhone. I took two days (Sunday and Monday) to cross-train at the gym. I did an easy hour on the elliptical machine each time. I don’t think I got my heart rate over 130. I was lazy and it was necessary.

Tuesday, I ran a moderately fast 5 miles (7:51 pace). I was still store (especially throughout my tibialis anterior muscles) but I was ready and raring to go after a couple of days away from running. Wednesday, I crawled my way through three miles. I was super tired and felt somewhat under-fueled from a busy week. I spent Wednesday evening lounging around, listening to running podcasts and eating lots of carbs. Then I felt better.

Thursday, I was officially not sore anymore! And it was 61 degrees! Sweet, sweet synchronicity. Of course I decided to make Thursday my “long run” day. I completed ten rainy, very windy miles in a sports bra and boy shorts. It felt SO WARM. It actually occurred to me that I might have a tough time training throughout summer, since my body is so well acclimated to sub-freezing temperatures. Oh well. The running grass is always greener. Here are my splits:

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 5.59.31 PM

Here is me:

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 6.00.36 PM

Here is my prominent, post-run calf vein:

Holla
Holla

And, without further ado, here are my Friday Favorites:

Music I’ve been running to:

Kings of Convenience, Declaration of Dependance; Sufjan Stevens, Carrie & Lowell

I’m obsessed with Carrie & Lowell. It could be Stevens’ best, in my opinion. I have the vinyl on speed delivery. Just yesterday alone, I listened to the whole album three times on repeat during my run.

Podcasts I highly recommend:

Running on Om Episode #114: Kara Goucher on the Importance of Being Yourself as a Runner

(Running on Om is such a chill, feel-good listening experience. And Kara Goucher is one of my favorites.)

Everyday Runner Episode #13: Libby James: Not Slowing Down… Literally

(This 77-year-old woman runs a 23 minute 5K. Just in case you’re wondering: that’s a 103% age grade.)

ThatRunningGirl: How to Run Relaxed

(I just love listening to this girl talk. She’s also a freelance writer and a distance runner who is ever so slightly faster than me, so I enjoy listening to her race reports, product reviews, and training talks. Her times are something to which I aspire.)

Ginger Runner Live Episode #56: Sage Canaday and the LA Marathon

(Sage Canaday is an incredibly fast, humble, dedicated ultra runner sponsored by Hoka One One. I enjoy listening to his training talks on his own YouTube channel as well.)

Fuel I’m loving:

This Organic Valley Organic Fuel protein shake

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 5.44.52 PM

(I’ve been drinking the chocolate variety but I’m excited to try the vanilla!) I cannot say enough about how much I love this stuff. If you’re like me and running suppresses your appetite, you probably would die without liquid calories. The nutritional blend of this supplement is fantastic (260 calories, 26 grams of protein, 6 grams of fat, 70% RDA calcium); most importantly it does not taste like a nutritional supplement, which are usually really blech. This drink tastes like melted chocolate ice cream. It’s best served extra chilled or over ice. I like that I do not have to keep them refrigerated, which means I’ll be able to take them with me to races. I cannot tolerate food of any kind after a race. So, unless an event has chocolate milk (surprisingly few do), I am usually not able to refuel properly. I can tell by the way I feel the following day that this really works against me. I chased this week’s 5 and 10 mile runs with a shake and I felt so refreshed and replenished afterwards.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 5.44.37 PM

Questions for the Internets:

What is your favorite protein shake/recovery drink?

Have you been running to any good, new music?

What’s your favorite running podcast?

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Congrats on your 5K and hooray for a warm run outside and good post-race recovery. That’s still an awesome time and PR, you should be super proud of it. And great long run too!

    I usually opt to make my own shakes at home post-run (since I work at home, I end my runs here often). I had a bottle of the Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte concentrate and even though it’s not the season for that, I’ve been mixing 1/4 cup of it with 2 scoops Orgain Organic Vanilla Protein Powder (of course you can use whatever protein you want), 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk, some pumpkin spice and cinnamon spices, and a handful of ice and blending it. It’s like a pumpkin spice frappucino shake. But Organic Valley looks like a GREAT option after a race since it’s shelf stable and full of protein. I’ll check those podcasts out too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Amy! That shake sounds amazing. Honestly, I enjoy pumpkin spice all year long too. I’m still eating the pumpkin spice Pop-Tarts I hoarded last fall. I have been looking for a good, natural protein powder so maybe I will give the Orgain a shot. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m really proud of your race despite everything…I seriously cannot believe it! I hope we can hang out next week sometime, that would be excellent.

    Like

  3. That vein! I love it. HAHA.

    Like

Leave a Reply

