First Day of Spring Flakes + The Pros and Cons of Racing Alone

Today was the first day of spring. It snowed. Apparently, this is not all that abnormal. But it hasn’t spring-snowed here in NJ any time in recent history. I know this because I always race the first weekend of spring, which hasn’t been remotely snowy since I started road racing 6 years ago.

During today’s slow, heavy snow-run, I was hit with a sincere, frightening thought: What if it snows during the Broad Street Run?

The BSR is a month and a half away, but it feels like this winter could easily stretch through May.

Something I enjoy while running in the snow is looping around in circles and tracing back over my own footprints. Every mile or so, I’m hit with a simple, unexpected revelation: I exist.

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 10.30.44 PM
(albeit not too happily)

I’m really stoked to race the Haddonfield Adrenaline 5K tomorrow. I’ve been looking forward to this race for the last month or so. It’s huge and super competitive. Over 1,000 really fast runners are signed up. I’m excited to catch up with many running friends I haven’t seen in a while. I’m hopeful that my recent training will pay off and I will race a PR, but that will depend on how the road conditions turn out.

I like big races. Even though they are highly competitive, they make it much more likely I’ll end up with a pack of runners that challenges me and pulls me along much faster than I would ordinarily run on my own. Usually, when I’m racing against just a few hundred other runners, I end up running most of the course alone.

Pros of Racing Alone: not having to deal with other runners’ lougies/distressed breathing/wheezing/overpowering perfume

Cons of Racing Alone: having to deal with much more audible inner demons/boredom/insufficient people-watching opportunities (I’m always curious to see: A. what other runners are wearing B. whether or not they’re listening to music C. if they look as close to death as I feel, etc.)

The shorts vs. tights struggle is real. It’s going to be 35 degrees at gun time, tomorrow morning. I think I’m going to wear shorts, even though I’ll be freezing.

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 10.54.36 PM

Questions for the Internets:

Do you prefer to race in a pack or alone?

How cold does it have to be for you to race in tights vs. shorts?

What’s one thing you like about running in the snow?

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Oh I would much rather run in a pack any day. Racing alone is so much harder. Like you said, I love it how the faster runners just sort of carry you along.
    Good luck in your race tomorrow.!! Plow thru that snow.! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck tomorrow and I wish I could have been there to support you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have a great race! You are amazing for running in this mess!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

