Thursday Thoughts: Run #LikeAWoman

It’s snowing again.

AGAIN.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 4.33.11 PM

IMG_9387
My “so over it” face

March, so far, has been all about precipitation. It snowed March 1st and has been raining and/or sleeting ever since. I’ve run though so many bottomless puddles; my feet seem to have permanently pruned.

I’m ready for spring. I’m read to sit on my porch with an iced coffee and breathe in the allergens. I’m ready to relax by the pool and inhale the chlorine. I’m ready to feel the sun on my skin. Of course, I miss my running tan.

Some of the best things about summer running include:

Boardwalk running down the Jersey shore: Dodging seagull poop really improves your agility. The boards are easy on your joints and offer a slight “spring.” There’s nothing better than Manco & Manco’s pizza for motivation.

High school track running: School’s out and the track is ALL MINE. I can pretend it’s 15 years ago and I’m actually running high school track instead of “acting” in the school musicals because, really, that was not my thing.

BEER: Post-summer run hydration at its finest

Anyway, I went to the gym to cross-train today. It took all my willpower just to trudge over there. (The gym is basically 50 yards away from my apartment, which fact makes it no less difficult to coerce myself into going.) I ended up getting in a great 60 minute elliptical workout with ten minutes of intervals midway through.

Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 4.33.32 PM

I have a piece featured on Bustle today. I’d been seeing so many people use Always’ #LikeAGirl hashtag in my Instagram feed. You know the commercial I’m talking about. Here’s why I think we should tell girls to run #LikeAWoman instead.

In other news, my mother found a journal I kept in 1999 while she was cleaning out her attic. I went to go pick it up yesterday along with a valentine from my dad (it kind of makes my life that I’ll always receive a valentine from my dad no matter what). The journal was painful/hilarious/kind of terrifying to read (my grammar and spelling were atrocious), but, overall, it’s an enjoyable time capsule so I’m glad it surfaced. I’m also really glad I’m not thirteen anymore.

In other, other news, the new Skrillex/Diplo album is fantastic to work out to. I highly, highly recommend!

Favorite tracks:

“Beats Knockin” (feat. Fly Boi Keno)

“Febreze” (feat. 2 Chainz)

“Take U There” (feat. Kiesza) – Missy Elliott Remix

Questions for the Internets:

Do you keep/have you ever kept a journal?

What’s your favorite part about summer running?

How over this snow are you?

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Your “so over it face’ looks way too happy. haha.
    and oh gosh.. if I found an old journal of mine, I would burn it right away, the yearbooks from middle school are already embarrassing enough. Forget the fact that I had a heart next to almost every guys name. haha

    Like

  2. I kept all my old journals and they probably need to be thrown away. It’s amazing how when we write something we’re like oh, my future kids, etc can see this and now that I’m of childbearing age… uh uh. Not happenin ever. Needs to be destroyed!

    You’re lucky your complex has a nice gym! But I hope the snow goes away for you guys soon.

    Like

  3. A while ago my mom found a journal I kept when I started running high school xc! Oh wow was I nuts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

