I highly recommend running with Radiohead in the rain.

I just got back from a short, rainy run. Actually, it was pouring mostly sleet. The pavement was really slick in patches, and there were lots of big puddles and inattentive motorists. But it was a relatively relaxing run. I love it when that happens. The sleet actually hurt my face. It was pelting my lips so hard I was worried they might split open and bleed. After a mile or so, I got used to it, and the remaining couple of miles were pleasant. I didn’t really think about much.

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 5.24.22 PM

Here’s what I listened to:

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 5.00.20 PM

I’m hearing a lot of people moan about the weather and how they’re binge watching Netflix just to stay sane. I hadn’t watched a movie in a really long time because I’ve been so preoccupied with work. Usually, I zone out with running, reading, and yoga, but I forgot how nice it feels to lose yourself in a good film. I watched three movies recently that I really enjoyed:

The One I Love (conceptual drama about a failing marriage; heartbreaking, quirky, moderately implausible/fallible unless you’re willing to suspend disbelief (I am); Mark Duplass and Elisabeth Moss give brilliant performances (not surprisingly).

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 5.28.49 PM

Girl Most Likely (totally weird comedy/drama about a jaded, socially pathetic playwright played by Kristen Wiig, who nails this character type so well; a little Young Adult-ish; endearing/feel good; excellent performance by Annette Bening (how is she not Kristen Wiig’s mother in real life?)

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 12.32.58 AM
“And I – I forgot that hanging out with regular people could be such an enthralling experience, you know. It’s like I feel like I want to expand my social circle and get, like, acrylic nails or something.”

How I Live Now (teen post-apocalyptic romance; definitely geared towards a younger audience, lacking larger context, plot is somewhat ill-defined and leaves a lot of loose ends; took me right back to being 15 so well I couldn’t stop watching; excellent musical score; Saoirse Ronan is stunning and I want all her clothes and her beautiful blue eyes.

Questions for the Internets:

What’s your favorite rainy running music?

Have you watched any good movies on Netflix lately?

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Radiohead any time I’d say.
    Desert Runners is an outratgeously awesome running doc. on Netflix. Strongly recommend.

    Like

  2. So call me obtuse, but I just realized that you are fabuliz on instagram and only the best at yoga!!! You really are amazing!

    Like

  3. Running in the rain is so therapeutic. I love it, but usually when I’m already running.

    Like

Leave a Reply

