FlapJacked Protein Pancakes Review

Here’s how dinner usually works for me: I end up writing until 9PM most nights, and, by that point, my brain is completely shot. So it’s all I can do to stumble into the kitchen and “prepare” something super-quick and easy, and by “prepare” I’m invoking serious irony because I eat mostly prepackaged, convenience foods.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have a healthy diet. A typical dinner involves some sort of organic vegetable, a dairy-based protein, like Greek yogurt, and lots of carbs (bread, toast, chips, pretzels, rice, cake, rice cakes, Pop-Tarts).

It really rubs me the wrong way when people insist you have to cook well to eat well. Some people just don’t have time to cook. Some people don’t enjoy it. I throw every ounce of focus and passion I have into both my creative and professional writing. In my free time, I run, practice yoga, and read. If I had even more free time I would knit, skate, and paint. Cooking doesn’t even begin to compete for space on my Want-To-Do List. (Even though I secretly really admire people who have talent and dedication in the kitchen.)

However, I have been craving pancakes lately. And pancakes are something you kind of have to cook. Since I’m working on incorporating more protein into my diet, I began searching the Internets for a delicious, high protein pancake mix. Since Kim Hoeltje, who is the Internet’s resident healthy baker, blogged in favor of FlapJacked Protein Pancake Mix, I decided to give it a shot. I ordered the three-flavor (Buttermilk, Banana Hazelnut, Cinnamon Apple) variety pack from Amazon and stalked the mailman for a few days until my package arrived. (Seriously, I follow the mailman while running around town and I can tell he gets super creeped out.)

Last night, I decided to give the Buttermilk FlapJacked a shot. It was fabulous. 1/2 cup of the mix combined with 1/2 cup of cold water yields many mini pancakes (I prefer mini pancakes to standard sized pancakes because of the increased peripheral surface area) for 200 calories, 17 grams of protein, and 6 grams of fiber. I smothered them with pure maple syrup and went to town. The texture was perfectly moist and delicious without being too mushy or chewy. I found it really easy to cook each pancake the right amount and the batter was extremely simple to “flip.”

Screen Shot 2015-02-04 at 3.12.35 PM

Screen Shot 2015-02-04 at 3.12.53 PM

I refrigerated several leftover cakes and ate them as part of my late night snack. I mixed together a few tablespoons of plain PB2 and assembled some protein pancake peanut butter sandwiches. They were amazing. I’m really excited to tweak the FlapJacked mix with different add-ins (Nutella, fruit, nuts, seeds, yogurt, cheese, jam, puree). I’m thinking these pancakes will make an excellent post-race meal.

Questions for the Internets:

What’s your favorite pancake topping/mix-in?

Have you tried making protein pancakes? What’s your favorite recipe?

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. So in love with FlapJacked mix!!!! Perfect for a quick and tasty breakfast!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard those are really good. I actually make pancakes/waffles a few times a week myself. That is one brand I’ve been really wanting to try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

